You are using Internet Explorer 8 (or older ...)! Therefore:
- this page will probably be displayed incorrectly,
- it's time to update or change your browser! ;)

The English version of the site at the moment has limited content.
To fully use waw4free, go to the Polish version.
advertisement
advertisement

Debate | Warsaw Ghetto Uprising and the Role of Civil Resistance

Debate | Warsaw Ghetto Uprising and the Role of Civil Resistance

advertisement
lecture
📅 Date: 25 April 2021, Sunday

⏰ Start time: 19:00

📌 Place: 💻 online
 share tweet
[wydarzenie oraz poniższy opis wyłącznie w języku angielskim]

On the occasion of the 78th anniversary of the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising and publication of, "Jews against Nazi Germany During World War II." Eminent Holocaust scholars will discuss the significance of civilian resistance in the ghetto before and during the April 1943 uprising, both civil disobedience and the participation of unarmed fighters in the uprising.

▪Event details:
When: Sun. 25 April, 2021, @7PM CET
8:00PM IDT
1:00PM EDT
10:00AM PDT

▪Broadcast in ENG. on #FriendsofPOLIN Facebook page >> link

They will consider how Jews in the ghetto maintained forbidden religious practices, organized medical aid, documented Nazi atrocities, built bunkers, and disobeyed German orders more generally. How can resistance be defined in a situation where the Germans denied Jews the very right to exist?

▪Participants:
Havi Dreifuss – Yad Vashem and Tel Aviv University
Samuel Kassow – Trinity College, Hartford, Connecticut
Miriam Offer – Western Galilee College and Tel Aviv University
Moderator:
Krzysztof Persak – POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews and Polish Academy of Sciences.

▪The debate is organized within the Global Education Outreach Program.